Premier League Preview: Week 7

Saturday

12:45:Wigan vs Wolves. I don’t expect this match to be a classic by any stretch of the imagination although I do think it will be a footballing contest unlike the Stoke vs Blackburn game which is being played later on today. Two sides who haven’t had unbelievable starts but then again Wolves have had tough games against Everton, Spurs, Stoke and Villa so I think they will get something out of this game. Wigan are the most up and down side. They get beat 6-0 and 5-0, then beat spurs and draw to Sunderland. Then last week-end they draw to Birmingham and I didn’t see any fight in them whatsoever. A draw is the most likely thing to happen here and so that is what i shall go for. 1-1.

15:00: Birmingham vs Everton. Birmingham should have beaten Wigan last year and marked their 1 year anniversary of not losing at home with a win. As it is they didn’t, but they do still have the record. I read Mark Lawrenson’s preview of this game and he said that Everton will beat Birmingham because after a year of going unbeaten, the game after, they will lose. “It’s just one of those things” he said. I don’t agree with this. I would say that City will look at this as a chance to impress everyone at how long this record can go on for. Everton were poor last week. There just lucky that Fulham were pretty lackluster aswell. Otherwise they would have left the Cottage with nothing. I see them losing here although by some sort of controversial decision. 2-1.

Stoke vs Blackburn. This will be a classic……. This will be the most physical game of the season. I think possibly the only game this season where the ball will not hit the ground for the entire 90 minutes. Throw ins, Corners, Free kicks. This will be a bulldozer of a game. Who will come out on top? I’m not quite sure, oh wait, yes I am. This has draw written on the pitch itself before it’s kicked off. Allardyce, will once again try and prove he can manage Europe’s elite. Would Mr Kaka and Mr Sneijder want to play under someone who enforces the kind of football that even a sheep wouldn’t want to watch? I think not. 1-1.

Sunderland vs Manchester United. This is a very intreaging game. I, personally, happen to think, that Steve Bruce does not get teh best out of his squad. In my opinion, Ferdinand, Cattermole, Bent, Turner and Fraizer Campbell are all top quality players. Only Bent is playing well at the moment. I’m a fan of Anton Ferdinand, but ihs confidence was shattered a couple of weeks back when he conceded that fluke goal to Fabregas a couple of weeks back andSteve needs to turn his negative attitude into a positive one because he is very good. All the players at the Stadium will be lifted for this match thanks to a hard fought draw at the Emirates last week. United, found, a very, very good performance in mid-week. Beating Valencia on their own turf is a tough ask. But they did it. Chicarito will silence some of the critics with that very well taken goal and I believe he will evolve into a very good player for United. As for this away trip, this could be Ferguson’s first away victory of the campaign and a much needed one. 0-1

Tottenham vs Aston Villa. My next article will be a report of this game from the stands and whilst writing it I will think back to, now and what I am expecting from Tottenham today. Houllier was not the fans favourite by any stretch but to go to Wolves and win, he did well. He will be a decent appointment and may keep them in the top 7 which I don’t think McDonald would have, if he had kept the job. I was there in mid-week and that was by a long way, Tottenham’s best performance since we beat Chelsea 2-1 back in April. This is a very tight one to call. I’ll go with a Villa win. 0-1. I’d like to say just one thing about Gareth bale, also, the best left sided player in the world right now.

West Brom vs Bolton. What can you say about West Brom last week eh? Grinding a result out away at the Gunners is a fantastic result. I loved how modest Roberto di Matteo was after the match aswell. I still fear for the Premier League lives but don’t take away the fact that, that was a briliant performance. Bolton are a good side and Owen Coyle has got them playing a bit of on the ground football to go with their root one. I think they will be beaten here and di Matteo’s side will continue to go on a good run. I would say though that this could go any of 3 ways, very unpredictable, but then that is why the Barclays Premier League is such a great specticle, you never know who will come out on top. In this case I’ll go with Albion, 2-1.

West Ham vs Fulham. West Ham did well to beat Spurs last weekend and are doing well with a good run of form. I’m still, however, not nearly convinced with Avram Grant’s coaching skills. Especially as a man motivater. Mark Hughes side is a very tough one to beat and if Johnson and Zamora were fit they could be in the top 5 right now. But because of them being out through injurys, Fulham are drawing games that if they had everyone fit, they would win. On paper West Ham should win today as in previous years, Fulham’s away form has been nothing bar woeful. However Mark has got them built, now, as a solid unit so I will go for a high score draw. 3-3.

Sunday

13:30: Manchester City vs Newcastle. Mancini will be pleased with his victory last weekend over Chelsea although they did try and kill the game in order to win the game. With all that quality, don’t try and go out and win 1-0 every game. That’s what I’d be saying to Roberto if I was one of the players or coaches. Newcastle were beaten last week by Stoke but I think they will get something from this. They  seem to do well when there the underdogs. They did it against Everton and Villa so I think they will atleast get a point here. Actually I will go for the victory. 0-1 Newcastle.

15:00. Liverpool vs Blackpool. A David vs Goliath battle here although would you call Liverpool a Goliath team nowadays? I leave that up to you but i would say not. If they are held here then I really can see them struggling this season. I had hopes for them when they bought Joe Cole and Gerrard, Torres etc decided to stay. But now my expectations have slipped again. The fixture list hasn’t been great for them but they definately should have won last week-end for sure. Blackpool will see this as a bonus game. A chance for them to stamp their althourity on the Premier League and take a huge scalp in their pursuit to stay up. Will the do it? I think they just might. 1-2 Blackpool.

16:00. Chelsea vs Arsenal. 1-1. Arsenal will play for a draw. Stick everyone behind the ball. They will go ahead and then lose it and Wenger will complain like he always does. Can’t say much. Draw

About dylster

I am a wannabee sports journalist and my main sports that i tend to write about are football, cycling, tennis and cricket
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

